IT MAKES CENTS?!?!?!

                                     download (1).jpeg

Whenever you walk into a store you will find that people will be using math. Shopping requires a wide-range of math knowledge from estimation to multiplication and even percentages. I am a huge fan of deals and whenever I walk into a store the first place I go to is the sale rack. WHY NOT SAVE MONEY? Often times above the sale rack there is a certain percentage that is taken off of the original price. Instead of doing the calculations in my head or on my calculator, I would avoid any math that needed to be used to buy this adorable shirt I couldn’t wait to wear out that night. Instead, I would go find the nearest employee and ask him or her to tell me the price of this shirt I was dying to have. DID YOU CATCH THAT? I had to ask what the price of the discounted shirt was!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  How embarrassing? How lazy? Well… let me inform you of something, let me introduce you to a formula that will change your shopping life. Here is a formula for all you lazy shoppers out there:

ORIGINAL PRICE + or – (THE PERCENTAGE x THE ORGINAL PRICE) = NEW VALUE

In this video below it explains in more depth how to use this formula when trying to figure out the new price of your cute shirt, CHECK IT OUT!

Teacher Tip: You could incorporate a store in your classroom and have your students face challenges they may have while shopping. They could estimate the cost of their clothes before checking out. They could incorporate coupons, sales, and adjusted pricing for their items. This would be fun for the students and allow them to realize the importance of math and how it is used in their everyday life.

 

YOU BARGAIN SHOPPERS CAN THANK ME LATER!!!

Link to lesson plan regarding math and shopping:

https://community.lessonplanet.com/t/take-math-shopping/863

Leave a Reply

