FOR GOODNESS BAKES!!!!

Math in the kitchen? That’s odd?

dc83328d28141eb261adc7029c453f6e--math-measurement-measurement-conversions

Cooking and baking can be some yummy ways to introduce math to your students. I remember in fifth grade I was assigned a project. For this certain project we had to get up in front of the class and give instructions on “how to” do something. I chose how to bake rice crispy treats. I still remember this project as if it was yesterday, I got up in front of the class and was ready to present, feeling confident, I began my presentation. As I started I had realized that I forgot to grab a bag off the counter in my house. This bag included the measuring tools I needed for the ingredients to make the perfect rice crispy treats. It was that day in Mrs. Hoefs fifth grade classroom that I realized the importance of math because without my measuring tools AKA MATH, I could not bake my treats, I could not present this project.

Working in the kitchen requires a wide range of mathematical knowledge, which include:

  • Measuring ingredients that help you follow a recipe (YOU NEED THOSE)
  • Multiplying/ dividing fractions for more or less than a single batch
  • Calculating cooking time per each item and adjusting accordingly
  • Understanding rations and proportions, particularly in baking

 

These are just some of the many ways that math is incorporated into baking, who would’ve thought? Not my fifth grade self, that’s for sure.

 

TEACHER TIP:

You could assign a project to students, have certain topics such as baking, shopping, building etc. Have them demonstrate their topic, incorporating math into it without them even knowing? This way like me in fifth grade they realize they are using math, without even knowing it. This could lead to a good discussion or even a good reminder for them.

Link to an article:

http://amomwithalessonplan.com/cooking-with-kids/

Leave a Reply

